What is this thing?

I am an audiophile, more specifically, a lyrics junky.

I have very eclectic tastes in music… if I can’t understand what’s being sung, I don’t bother. This means I don’t listen to death metal, screamo, rap, or opera (because most of it isn’t in English).

I like songs with the kind of lyrics that speak to ME personally, but that’s not all I listen to. I also like nonsensical lyrics with a great beat.

This journals purpose will be a look at lyrics that truly talk to me.

Each post will be about one song, and I will provide links to the song on YouTube and Spotify when applicable. The name of the song, artist name, and writer will be listed along with the lyrics. There will be notations of how this song has reached me on a personal and emotional level.

Hopefully some of you will take the time to read my posts, even though the point of a journal is personal and not really for public consumption. I really like this idea of sharing the music that I love and why I love it so much.

Leave a comment